Rabu, 07 Juni 2023

Cronenworth Runs Into Umpire, 支配するd Out At 2Nd Base

Padres baserunner Jake Cronenworth ran into 2B Umpire Ryan Wills on an 内野 ground ball as he tried to reach second base, 落ちるing over and 許すing the Cubs plenty of time to get the out. Should this have been umpire 干渉,妨害 or is this nothing...and where should an umpire stand on a play at second base?

To begin, this 衝突/不一致 is not umpire 干渉,妨害 as there are only two forms of umpire 干渉,妨害 in the rulebook: one, when the umpire 干渉するs with the catcher's throw to retire a 走者 (or 干渉するs with the catcher returning the ball to the 投手); and, two, when the umpire working inside (as Wills did here) gets 攻撃する,衝突する by a batted ball before the ball has passed an infielder, 供給するd it did not first touch the 投手.

Thus, there is no umpire 干渉,妨害 and no 推論する/理由 to 宣言する the ball dead: 2B Umpire Wills is considered part of the field as Cronenworth runs into him and the out call 勝つ/広く一帯に広がるs.

As for position, although an 初期の 姿勢 of 深い B along the 内野 grass is proper, perhaps we can borrow from the wild pitch 原則 of (疑いを)晴らすing the catcher to, instead, "(疑いを)晴らす the base path" (or 可能性のある base path, which 含むs the baseline) and thus 避ける the 見込み of a 走者 running into the 支援する of an umpire 準備するing to take a play at the 活動/戦闘 base.

ビデオ as follows:

補欠/交替の/交替する Link: Cronenworth つまずくs after running into Umpire Wills; no call puts him out

0 komentar:

地位,任命するing Komentar